Smog (AKA Bill Callahan)

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. I apologize, as life has been busy. Currently I’ve got Capstone (or my thesis class) which I am behind on as well as the constant struggle of school and work, because Thai Food isn’t going to serve itself. (Drive through Thai Food? If this isn’t real, it should be.)
But enough about me. Bill Callahan has successfully done what many musicians only dream of, developed a cult following that has led to enough success to be “heard of” but not enough to betray his underground status.
As I had heard of Bill Callahan before, I actually had never sought anything he had worked on out. A year or so ago, I had become obsessed with this lo-fi project called “Smog” which almost instantly made me a fan. A constant on my Pandora radio I delayed looking up much about Smog for no real reason.
About a year later, I struck up a conversation with my friend Kevin Mallon (I’ve tried to insert a picture of him but for some reason I can’t. It would have been great, funny captions and all) who mentioned the name Bill Callahan tied up with Smog (about which I was trying to sell him on. It wasn’t a hard sell.) Only then did I start my research of the extensive amount of work that is Bill Callahan.
This performance is at the ever impressive NPR tiny desk concert series, which holds some of the best of the best of bands around today. In the typical NPR fashion, they even can discuss music with an aptitude rarely seen today.
So check it out and as usual relax and listen well.

2 thoughts on “Smog (AKA Bill Callahan)

  1. Jnana Hodson says:

    No apologies needed. I’m of the camp that would rather read something of substance whatever time’s required rather than something on a self-imposed deadline. Besides, serving Thai food is a very high calling, done right. I do hope it’s not drive-thru, though.

    • Thanks for the support! I’m glad someone is actually taking the time to read my material. And there’s no drive through, though I swear with how fast our chef’s sling noodles, it’s not impossible.

Leave a Reply

